Association for Institutional Thought
Account Login
Main or Alternate E-mail Address:


Security Code:
Enter Security Code:
Required Field
Log me in automatically

[ Trouble Logging In? ]
[ New Account Registration ]

Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT)

The Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT) is an organization devoted to encouraging and fostering the development of institutional thought in extension and modification of the contributions of Thorstein Veblen, John Dewey, Clarence Ayres,JohnCommons, Wesley Mitchell and others.  They offer their ideas and the ideas of other Institutionalists as a basis for inquiry into the interrelationships of society.  AFIT was officially organized on April 27, 1979 at the 21st annual conference of the Western Social Science Association.

John Hall, president of the Association for Institutional Thought, appointed Richard Dadzie (chair), Bret Anderson, and Anna Klimina to the nominating committee. The committee offered the following slate of candidates for election to AFIT offices for 2014-15 (the terms of office begin after the 2014 annual meeting.)  Brief biographies of the candidates are included with this ballot.

Voting closes November, 15 2013 at 5pm Pacific time.

Biographies of the candidates can be found on the Officers & Board Members Bios page.

Click here to cast your vote

Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT)


The 35th annual meeting of AFIT will be held

April 2-5, 2014

Albuquerque, New Mexico

In conjunction with the Western Social Science Association (WSSA) 56th Annual Conference


Click here for details


The Association for Institutional Thought
Ninth Annual Student Scholars Award Competition

The Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT) proudly announces the Ninth Annual AFIT Student Scholars Award Competition. The aim of AFIT is to encourage undergraduate and graduate students in Economics and Political Economy to pursue research in topics within the Institutional Economics framework and which draws upon and acknowledges the work of Institutional economists.

Awards will be made to the three best papers. Winners are expected to present their research during a special session at the Annual Meetings of AFIT, held during the Western Social Science Association’s Annual Conference at the Hyatt, Albuquerque, New Mexico, April 2-5, 2014.

Winners will each receive:

  1. $300 prize
  2. One year student membership in AFIT
  3. Paid WSSA Conference Registration
  4. Paid admission to the AFIT Presidential Address Dinner

Winning papers must be presented at the special AFIT session in order to be eligible for the prize. Prizes will be presented during the AFIT Presidential Address Dinner.


Application Procedures and Deadlines

Papers must be between 15-25 pages in length (4,000–7,000 words), including references and appendices. An entry must include author, educational affiliation, and email address.  They should be submitted electronically (preferably as a pdf) by December 1, 2013 to:

Professor Frederic S. Lee
Department of Economics
211 Haag Hall
University of Missouri-Kansas City
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri  64110
E-mail:  leefs@umkc.edu
Winners will be notified by 1/15/14.


Papers of last year’s winners are found at: